New Teen Organ Donor Law In New York State
It took effect on Valentine's Day, and the new law allows 16 and 17 year-olds to be organ donors here in New York State. Until then, donors in this state were required to be at least 18.
Now, once any New Yorker gets their driver's license, they can register as a donor. According to newyorkupstate.com, New York State ranks second from last in the entire country in the percentage of residents who are registered donors. But, the need for organs here in the Empire State is the third largest in the country. There is a reported 10,000 residents waiting for an organ on any given day.
While 16 and 17 year-olds can now register as organ donors, their parents must approve the donation in the event of their deaths.