Governor Andrew Cuomo, along with New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy and Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, has issued a joint Travel Advisory.

This quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

WIBX reports the advisory affects travelers from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.

The new Executive Order states the travel advisory and mandatory 14-day quarantine will be communicated widely at all major points of entry into New York, including on-highway message boards, and in all New York airports.

Governor Cuomo said during the 6/24/20 press conference that New York police would be looking for and pulling over vehicles with out-of-state license plates. Hotel and motel employees must communicate the 14-day quarantine to guests who have traveled from one of the impacted states.

Any violation of a quarantine or isolation order issued to an individual pursuant to the Commissioner of the Department of Health's travel advisory by a local department of health or state department of health may be enforced pursuant to article 21 of the public health law, and non-compliance may additionally be deemed a violation pursuant to section 12 of the public health law subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000.

Do you think this will help?

96.1 The Eagle logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


KEEP READING: See states hit hardest by COVID-19’s impact on tourism

More From 96.1 The Eagle