The Baseball Writers’ Association of America voted Milwaukee Brewers’ outfielder Ryan Braun National League MVP. He edged out Los Angeles Dodger Matt Kemp after lifting the club to the Central Division title, and Braun’s teammate, pending free agent Prince Fielder, finished third.

Braun, 28, batted .332 with 33 homers, 33 steals and 111 RBI. He sure proved his value after he signed an extension in April that will keep him in Milwaukee through 2020.

The last Brewer to win the award was Robin Yount in 1989, and the franchise hadn’t won a division title since 1982.

Check out the past National League MVP title holders from the past decade.