This year's Oscar's will had two Syracuse University alumnus each chasing the Academy Award. Aaron Sorkin graduated in 1983 from SU and was nominated in the Best Adapted Screenplay for "Molly's Game".

Aaron Sorkin is well known to the members of the Academy. Sorkin won the Academy Award in the Adapted Screenplay category in 2011 for "The Social Network." In 2012, he was nominated in the same category for "Moneyball," along with Steven Zaillian and Stan Chervin.

An active and dedicated Syracuse University alumnus, in 2006 Sorkin founded and launched Sorkin in LA Learning Practicum - also known as Sorkin Week - which is a weeklong immersion for drama and film students.

Michael H. Weber, Syracuse University alumnus in 2000 and nominated for the screenplay for "The Disaster Artist, the true story of aspiring filmmaker Tommy Wiseau based on the book by Greg Sestero. Weber co-wrote and executive (500) Days of Summer, which was nominated for best feature - Comedy at the Golden Globe Awards and earned him an Independent Spirit Award and a Golden Satellite Award for the Best Screenplay of the Year.

More From 96.1 The Eagle