Marvin Gaye and Nile Rodgers are getting their due as the newest inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Gaye, who will receive the honor posthumously, came up through Motown with pop duets. Later, the legend penned hit songs like "Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)," "Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler)," "What's Going On?" and the two-time Grammy-Award winning song, "Sexual Healing."

Nile Rodgers, who will be inducted alongside Bernard Edwards, the other half of Chic. Together, the two created dance hits like "Everybody Dance," "I Want Your Love," "Le Freak," the Grammy-nominated "Dance, Dance, Dance (Yowsah, Yowsah, Yowsah)" and the widely celebrated song, "We Are Family." Rodgers also penned Diana Ross' disco hits, "I’m Coming Out" and "Upside Down."

Lionel Richie, whos penned songs like "Brick House" and "All Night Long," will serve as the 2016 recipient of the esteemed Johnny Mercer Award, while 23-year-old Nick Jonas will receive the Hal David Starlight Award, which honors young songwriters who are making an impact on the industry. (Alicia Keys and Drake have nabbed this honor in the past.)

Elvis Costello, Tom Petty, Chip Taylor and Seymour Stein are also slated to be inducted into this year's ceremony. It's sure to be a worthwhile show as well wth B-52s, Marcus Mumford, Roger McGuinn, Rachel Platten, Sister Sledge, Jussie Smollett and Jon Voight listed as performers and presenters.

The 47th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on June 9 in New York.

More From 96.1 The Eagle