The Big E got the big snub.

Eric Lindros, a bruising injury-prone power forward once appointed the “Next One,” will have to wait until next year before entering the pantheon of hockey’s greatest.

Ed Belfour, Doug Gilmour, Joe Nieuwendyk, and Mark Howe were among the four players chosen to be elected into this year’s Hockey’s Hall of Fame class, the selection committee announced Tuesday. The Class of 2011 will be inducted into the shrine Nov. 14 in Toronto.

Lindros, who battled with injuries through a majority of his 13 seasons in the NHL, had his career cut short in large part due to a number of concussions he sustained as a result of his physical play.

The six-foot-four, 245-pound center amassed 865 points in 760 games. His 1.4 points-per-game is the highest of any Hall of Fame-eligible player, who has played in a minimum of 600 games, not in the hall.


More From 96.1 The Eagle