'Minstrel in the Gallery,' Jethro Tull's eighth LP, is being remastered and expanded for its 40th birthday.

The band's fifth consecutive U.S. Top 10 album -- and the last to feature the longtime lineup of Ian Anderson, Martin Barre, John Evans, Barrie Barlow and Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond -- 'Minstrel' was originally released in September 1975, and spun off one single with the title track, which peaked at No. 80. The new edition, which supplants a previously available 2002 remaster, is being released on May 5 as a limited-edition two-CD / two-DVD set.

The deluxe version, titled the 'La Grande' edition, adds seven bonus tracks (six of them previously unreleased) to the original album, including two mixed to 5.1 surround, and all to stereo by Steven Wilson, plus a flat transfer of the original LP mix at 96/24 and a flat transfer of the original quad mix, both of which include the B-side 'Summerday Sands.'

This edition, which is available for pre-order now, also includes an eight-minute film from 1975, featuring the band performing 'Minstrel in the Gallery' in Paris during July 1975, and adds a case-bound DVD book with an 80-page booklet featuring essays and photos as well as a series of track-by-track annotations by Anderson. For those who don't have a 'La Grande' budget to match the deluxe pricing, 'Minstrel' will also be reissued digitally and on a single CD, as well as a 180-gram vinyl limited-edition pressing.

Jethro Tull, 'Minstrel in the Gallery' 40th Anniversary La Grande Edition Track Listing
Disc One - New Steven Wilson Stereo Mix
'Minstrel in the Gallery'
'Cold Wind to Valhalla'
'Black Satin Dancer'
'One White Duck / 010 = Nothing At All'
'Baker St. Muse': a. 'Pig-Me And The Whore' b. 'Nice Little Tune' c. 'Crash-Barrier Waltzer" d. 'Mother England Reverie'
'Summerday Sands'
'Requiem' (Version 1, previously unreleased)
'One White Duck' (Take 5, previously unreleased)
'Grace' (Take 2, previously unreleased)
'Minstrel in the Gallery' (BBC version, previously unreleased)
'Cold Wind to Valhalla' (BBC version, previously unreleased)
'Aqualung' (BBC version, previously unreleased)

Disc Two - Live at the Palais Des Sports, Paris, July 5, 1975 (A Jakko Jakszyk Stereo Mix)
'Introduction (The Beach Part 11)'
'Wind Up'
'Critique Oblique'
'Wond'ring Aloud'
'My God': a. Flute Solo Including: 'God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen/Bouree/Quartet' b. 'Living in the Past' c. 'My God' (Reprise)
'Cross-Eyed Mary'
'Minstrel in the Gallery'
'Skating Away on the Thin Ice of the New Day'
'Bungle in the Jungle'
Guitar Solo
'Back-Door Angels'
'Locomotive Breath' with improvisation and including "Hard Headed English General" and "Back-Door Angels" (reprise)

More From 96.1 The Eagle